DEEN
×

PSYCHO MATERIALISM

17/10 —19/10 2014

Schedule and Abstracts eng/dt

Worpswede Speculations #1: Psycho-Materialism – A Symposium at Devil’s Moor. Invited by Tim Voss and Kerstin Stakemeier

With contributions by Kerstin Brätsch/Debo Eilers, Helmut Draxler, Johnny Golding, Anja Kirschner, Benjamin Noys, Johannes Paul Raether, Juliane Rebentisch and Kerstin Stakemeier.

Special Guests: Klasse Michaela Melián (HfbK Hamburg) with the exhibition MOOR MOOR MOOR in the Martin Kausche-Ateliers.

The financialized crisis of global capitalism brought the brutal antagonisms that determine the material realities of life in our societies to the fore – not only in its eruption in 2008, but also in its infiltration of normality ever since. As it seems, the paradigm of our present lies not in the ideology of a unified progress, but rather in its openly materializing non-simultaneity. A non-simultaneity that permeates different geographical regions as well as different forms of labour techniques, media, genders, social groups and singular subjects. This state of stabilised disintegration produces images, forms and materials that open up the view onto fissures, irrationalities, remains and unfinished models belonging to modernity as well as to postmodernity, to the present as well as to the past: we are presented with a panorama without a prospect, a panorama with countless prospects.

In the light of this present moment, a discussion that debates questions of materialism has developed in recent years. A materialism which does not primarily seek to uncover the systematisations of an/other progress, but that instead attempts to locate a universalism which is able to connect the peculiarities of the breakages, the inherited archaisms and the steadily (re)produced disparities. A materialism in which the singularities of the materials acquire a new centrality in which objects and humans, animate and inanimate matter are equally regarded as active assets within a divergent present that is held together by mutual negation, that is held together by crisis. But even the debates around such a crisis-ridden materialism are extremely divergent, depending which discourses or sciences you consult: the New Materialisms of political theory and the Speculative Realisms in philosophy with their ontological tenor seem hardly to relate to political engagements made necessary by a sustained form of capitalist crisis, or even to current artistic inquiries into the ruptures implied in the digital constitution of even the most modernist of materialities today. It is this missing relation, however, which lies at the core of our interest. It is the ruptures of individuation, its actualized materialities and the frictitions of the subject form that finds itself in crisis that we are invested in.

Tim Voss, initiator of the ‘Colonie’, a project of the Künstlerhäuser Worpswede, has invited the art historian and theorist Kerstin Stakemeier to assemble a three day international symposium in Worpswede that will bring those divergent discussions together on the basis of one point of intersection: we want to focus on the materialitities of the riven subject of our present. At this English-language symposium we want to approach ‘psycho-materialism’ in the form of introductions, lectures, workshops, screenings and performances. What determines individuations in the midst of this crisis-ridden panorama? What is the psycho-materialism of the now? What became of the ‘psychopathological alienation’ (Gilbert Simondon) of humankind under capitalism? We want to discuss the subjective side of the materialist equation of crisis together with ten international participants.

Worpswede, a former artists’ colony with a minimum of material resources and an open horizon looking out onto Teufelsmoor, offers a fitting ambiance for a conference on psycho-materialism. The conference will take place in the Schützenverein Worpswede as well as in a former barn. As special guests, Michaela Melián’s class at the HfbK Hamburg will open an installation at the Martin Kausche-Ateliers. A shared weekend with exhibition, lectures, discussions, workshops, fringe events and full board on the cheap.

Come to the colony. Go psycho with us!

The symposium will lead to a small publication, a reader that will include transcriptions of the weekend’s discussions, working groups and panels as well as contributions by participating artists.

17.-19.10.2014 Psycho Materialism / Ein Symposion im Teufelsmoor
First day in Worpswede Schützenverein: Juliane Rebentisch
Second day in the Bötjer´sche Scheune: Helmut Draxler
Johnny Golding and Johannes Paul Raether / Schwarmwesen
Anja Kirschner and Benjamin Noys
KAYA (Debo Eilers & Kerstin Brätsch) and Kerstin Stakemeier
Ratsdiele Worpswede

DEEN
×

PSYCHO MATERIALISM

17/10 —19/10 2014

Schedule and Abstracts eng/dt

Worpsweder Spekulationen #1:
Psycho-Materialism – Ein Symposion im Teufelsmoor

Eingeladen von Tim Voss und Kerstin Stakemeier.

mit Beiträgen von Kerstin Brätsch/Debo Eilers, Helmut Draxler, Johnny Golding, Anja Kirschner, Benjamin Noys, Johannes Paul Raether, Juliane Rebentisch und Kerstin Stakemeier. Special Guests: Klasse Michaela Melián (HfbK Hamburg) mit der Ausstellung "MOOR MOOR MOOR" in den Martin Kausche-Ateliers.

Die finanzialisierte Krise des globalen Kapitalismus ließ die brutalen Gegensätze die die Lebensrealitäten in unseren Gesellschaften bestimmen in den Vordergrund treten - und das nicht nur im Moment ihres Ausbruchs 2008, sondern ebenso in ihrem Einsickern in die Normalität seither. Nicht die Ideologie eines gemeinsamen Fortschritts scheint das Paradigma der Gegenwart zu sein, sondern ihre offen ausagierte Ungleichzeitigkeit. Eine Ungleichzeitigkeit, die sich ebenso durch unterschiedliche geografische Regionen zieht, wie durch Arbeitsfelder, durch Techniken, durch Medien, durch Geschlechter, durch gesellschaftliche Gruppen und durch Einzelsubjekte. Dieser Zustand eines stabilisierten Zerfalls produziert Bilder, Formen und Materialien, die die Aussicht auf Kluften, Irrationalismen, Restbestände und unabgeschlossene Modelle freigeben, die der Moderne ebenso angehören wie der Postmoderne, der Gegenwart ebenso wie ihren Vergangenheiten: ein Panorama ohne Ausblick und ein Panorama mit unendlich vielen Ausblicken.

Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Gegenwart hat sich in den letzten Jahren eine neuerliche Diskussion um die Frage des Materialismus entwickelt. Ein Materialismus, der nicht zuvorderst nach der Systematik eines anderen Fortschritts sucht, sondern nach einem Universalismus der die Eigenheiten der Bruchstellen, der mitgeschleiften Archaismen und stetig (re)produzierten Missverhältnissen verbinden kann. Ein Materialismus in dem den Eigenheitendes Materials eine neue Wichtigkeit zukommt, in dem Dinge und Menschen, Belebtes und Unbelebtes gleichermaßen zu aktiven Posten einer divergenten Gegenwart werden, deren Zusammenhalt negativ ist, deren Zusammenhalt Krise ist. Doch auch die Debatten um diese so krisenhafte Materialismen weichen in unterschiedlichen Diskursen und Wissenschaften extrem voneinander ab: der Neue Materialismus in der politischen Theorie und der Spekulative Realismus philosophischer Debatten, scheinen mit ihren ontologischen Grundannahmen mit neueren künstlerischen Auseinandersetzungen mit der digitalen Verfasstheit aller noch so modernistischen Materialitäten in der Gegenwart kaum vereinbar zu sein. Es ist jedoch genau dieses abwesende Verbindung, die im Kern unseres Interesses liegt. Es sind die Risse der Individuierung, ihre aktualisierten Materialitäten und die Bruchstellen eben der Subjektform, die sich hier in der Krise befindet, mit denen wir uns auseinandersetzen wollen.

Tim Voss, Initiator der "Kolonie", einem Projekt der Künstlerhäuser Worpswede, hat die Kunstgeschichtlerin und Theoretikerin Kerstin Stakemeier eingeladen, gemeinsam ein dreitägiges internationales Symposium in Worpswede einzuladen, die diese divergenten Diskussionen anhand einer Schnittstelle zusammenziehen will: wir wollen die Materialitäten des zerklüfteten Subjekts dieser Gegenwart ins Zentrum ziehen. Auf dem englisch-sprachigen Symposion wollen wir „Psycho-Materialism“ in Form von Einführungen, Vorträgen, Workshops, Screenings und Performances diskutieren. Was bestimmt die Individuierung inmitten des Krisenpanoramas? Was ist der Psycho-Materialism des Jetzt? Was wurde aus der „psychophysiologischen Entfremdung“ (Gilbert Simondon) der Menschen im Kapitalismus? Mit insgesamt zehn internationalen Teilnehmer_innen wollen wir die menschliche Seite der materialistischen Krisengleichung diskutieren.

Worpswede, ehemalige Künstlerkolonie, landschaftlich eher spärlich an umgebenen Materialien, und mit einem offenen Horizont zum Teufelsmoor, bietet uns das passende Ambiente, eine Konferenz zum Psycho-Materialism digitaler Krisenzeiten im Schützenverein Worpswede und in einer ehemaligen Scheune zu veranstalten. Als Special Guest wird die Klasse von Michaela Melián der HfbK Hamburg eine Installation in den Martin Kausche-Ateliers eröffnen. Also ein gemeinsames Wochenende mit Ausstellung, Vorträgen, Diskussionen, Workshops, Rahmenprogramm und Vollverpflegung für kleines Geld.

Kommt in die Kolonie, go Psycho with us!

Das Symposion wird zu einer kleinen Publikation führen. Ein Lesebuch, dass eine Transkriptionen der Gespräche, Arbeitsgruppen und Panel-Diskussionen des Wochenendes, sowie Beiträge der teilnehmenden KünstlerInnen beinhaltet.

17.-19.10.2014 Psycho Materialism / Ein Symposion im Teufelsmoor
First day in Worpswede Schützenverein: Juliane Rebentisch
Second day in the Bötjer´sche Scheune: Helmut Draxler
Johnny Golding and Johannes Paul Raether / Schwarmwesen
Anja Kirschner and Benjamin Noys
KAYA (Debo Eilers & Kerstin Brätsch) and Kerstin Stakemeier
Ratsdiele Worpswede